Wellness in the midst of caregiving

Terry PriestleyTerry Priestley Member Rank ✭4✭
edited November 2019 in Lifestyle
Caregiver: A person provides direct care to another person (child, elderly or ill)
Caretaker:  1. One that gives physical or emotional support.  2. One that takes care of the house or land of an         owner who may be absent.  3. One temporarily fulfilling the function of office.   (Merriam-Webster Dictionary)

These titles are often used interchangeably and are often blurred.  Since, it is often hard to differentiate one from the other for they are being carried out simultaneously.  Many of us have or will have these titles at some point of our lives.  

I am not an expert on the topic by no means.   But, what I am is an oncology nurse for many years and a caregiver/taker to my elderly mother and deceased sister.  It is not an easy task or even a welcomed one at times.  What it is...is a hidden blessing.  The ability to apart of a persons life in their most vulnerable state.   What is also is a challenge.  To cope with your plans being changed as you are heading out the door to your workout because your mother isn't feeling well and you know it isn't a good idea to leave her alone.  You becoming vulnerable to not taking care of yourself when you need it most.  We've all heard "you need to TAKE CARE of yourself or you won't be able to care for whomever it is you are caring for".   I know this, you know this but do we listen?  

TAKE CARE = CARETAKER   One that gives physical or emotional support.